PDA

View Full Version : One leged riders BK or ABK

brokenleg
13th November 2007, 20:04
Any One have tips or stories about being a amputee. I had a below the knew lose 9/07/07 and just got my leg 3 weeks ago. I rode my bike to a friends to work on it last week. Oh to get back in the saddle it was cold OH WHAT A FEELING ON A SPORTSTER. know rear brakes down shift and use the front. My friend is going to put forward controls on and change out a leaking oil tank. When I get back will ride all day.

NoBoZoS
13th November 2007, 22:37
Good to see you back in the saddle again!...Ride Safe :tour

Scot883
15th November 2007, 04:48
I'm a left bk amputee. I've got 37,000 miles on my peg leg since I started riding again after my accident. You didn't say it was your right leg but I'm guessing it is because of your no rear brake comment. I've got nerve damage in my right hand to go along with my leg so I modified my front brake to be operated by my left thumb. I still clutch with my left fingers. today is my first day on this site so I haven't figured out how to post the pictures yet I'll try to figure it out and posta pic of my hand controls for you to check out. 13221 We'll see if i added the pic right on my first try. if you run a second master cylinder on the bars for the rear brake you won't need forward controls. iwould reccomend keeping your mids if possible even if you do go with the forward controls as its nice to be able to move your leg around. if you have and questions about your leg or your bike email me scot@donahuehd.com or evoscot76@yahoo.com

rwise
24th November 2007, 13:24
I have a friend here that rides with one leg, only prob he has is with the law, *you must put BOTH feet on the ground at stop or you did not stop* judge throws it out every time when he stands up, go figure,,,,

flathead45
24th November 2007, 14:22