The Sportster and Buell Motorcycle Forum - The XLFORUM®
 

Go Back   The Sportster and Buell Motorcycle Forum - The XLFORUM® > SPORTSTER MOTORCYCLE ZONE > Sportster Motorcycle Electrical > Sportster Motorcycle Electrical and Ignition
XLF Blogs XLF Arcade XLF Disclaimer/Privacy Statement/Terms Of Use

Active Threads
0 1977 Ironhead clutch arm moves but wont shift.
Last Post: GrimKvlt
Posted On: 13 Minutes Ago
Replies: 0
Views: 4
0 1977 Ironhead clutch arm moves but wont shift.
Last Post: GrimKvlt
Posted On: 16 Minutes Ago
Replies: 7
Views: 213
0 Surging Engine (electrical issue)
Last Post: Aden
Posted On: 18 Minutes Ago
Replies: 0
Views: 4
0 Poll: how many people have/will trade(d) up to a new Sportster?
Last Post: Graywolf
Posted On: 34 Minutes Ago
Replies: 330
Views: 97,931
0 '04 Carb Tuning issue.... the 'carb' pop!
Last Post: Wharfcreek
Posted On: 37 Minutes Ago
Replies: 9
Views: 93
0 Official XL Forum Random Image Thread (NO NUDITY!)
Last Post: Ireeman
Posted On: 1 Hour Ago
Replies: 39,793
Views: 6,088,710
0 Lowboy frame conversion
Last Post: Ferrous Head
Posted On: 1 Hour Ago
Replies: 15
Views: 402
0 Safe to run 2 master links?
Last Post: bustert
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 12
Views: 238
0 Average age of the Ironhead forum users
Last Post: Martysf
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 400
Views: 65,317
0 What are you drinking tonight?
Last Post: wandrur
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 1,892
Views: 94,693
0 This Week in my Shop
Last Post: decman
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 180
Views: 19,085
0 Anyone still use Cycle Shack duels?
Last Post: Edster
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 2
Views: 66
0 91 oil in cam cover
Last Post: rocketmangb
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 4
Views: 58
0 Help with digital speedo thats driving me crazy!!!
Last Post: bustert
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 15
Views: 345
0 First gear no clunk or sound, normal???
Last Post: bustert
Posted On: 2 Hours Ago
Replies: 20
Views: 552
More...
Members Birthdays
WinXP (67), Maggie (61), grancan1 (53), SRKASM (47), metalmessiah, o113attitude (43), stinkynate (35), wingman_214 (34)
Tags
digital speedo, interference engine, speedeometer, sportster 92

Sponsored Links
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 9 Hours Ago
rejeanprimeau's Avatar
rejeanprimeau rejeanprimeau is offline
XL FORUM TEAM MEMBER
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: On a farm
Posts: 5,561
Sportster/Buell Model: XL77.2R
Sportster/Buell Year: 2006
Reputation: 1692464
rejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond reputerejeanprimeau has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yes with SportsterDoc, check your positive connection come from where. On DC system a voltage drop is possible, the Speedo work on a hall effect.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8 Hours Ago
Sportster-92 Sportster-92 is offline
Biker
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Sportster/Buell Model: sportster XLH 1200
Sportster/Buell Year: 92
Reputation: 819
Sportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks for your input guys. I have completely rewired the bike and tried to keep it simple so it does not correspond to Harley wiring colour wise. The speedo and sensor has a 12v 15 amp supply. This comes from the battery via the ignition switch then through a 15 amp fuse. My brake light, start button and kill switch share the same supply. The lights don't go through the fuses. They come from the battery via my ignition switch being turned on by the second click of the ignition.

Some how the signal to the speedo from the sensor is being affected by the ignition system. Do you think its because the kill switch and start button share the same 15 amp connection? The kill switch does have a white wire that connects to the coil.

Thanks again guys.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8 Hours Ago
sportsterdoc's Avatar
sportsterdoc sportsterdoc is offline
Senior Master Custom Bike Builder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mojave Desert
Posts: 12,557
Sportster/Buell Model: 1200S
Sportster/Buell Year: 2002
Sportster/Buell Model #2: XLH883
Sportster/Buell Year #2: 2003
Other Motorcycle Model: Triumph Bonneville
Other Motorcycle Year: 2012
Reputation: 3858728
sportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond reputesportsterdoc has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportster-92 View Post
Do you think its because the kill switch and start button share the same 15 amp connection? The kill switch does have a white wire that connects to the coil.
1. Be good to see schematic sketch
2. Meanwhile, confirm "kill switch", which typically grounds the points/module side of coil, is actually a "stop/run" switch.
3. Do not expect common circuit to be an issue, other than a blown fuse kills it all.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8 Hours Ago
Sportster-92 Sportster-92 is offline
Biker
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 17
Sportster/Buell Model: sportster XLH 1200
Sportster/Buell Year: 92
Reputation: 819
Sportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enoughSportster-92 will become famous soon enough
Default

Hey Sportster Doc. Yes kill switch is the same as stop/run switch. I will get a schematic layout drawn up and figure out how to post some pics.

If I remember right the white wire coming from the stop start switch is a hot wire to the coil. It must ground after the coil.

Thanks again to all of you for your input I really appreciate it!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5 Hours Ago
IXL2Relax's Avatar
IXL2Relax IXL2Relax is offline
XL FORUM TEAM MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Let Freedom Ring in PA
Posts: 4,780
Sportster/Buell Model: Sportster 883►1200
Sportster/Buell Year: 1994
IXL2Relax has disabled reputation
Default

Your power wire should come from the keyswitch, thru a fuse, then to the Run/Stop switch

The keyswitch should be wired for two positions - Accessory & Run - The older style keyswitch with Run & Lights positions was replaced/upgraded in order to prevent running the bike with no lights...

In any event, your keyswitch should feed a fuse (or fuses) to protect the wiring from overcurrent (from a short) which will cause the insulation to melt & potentially create a fire when the wire glows like a light bulb... USE A FUSE for every circuit...

From the Run/Stop Switch the power should feed -
- - the Starter Button (which operates the Starter Relay)
- - the coil hot side (the other side of the coil is grounded by the trigger signal from the ECM)
- - the ECM power - Engine Control Module

IXL _ ___ _____ _______ >>>> My Build & Ride Reports Are Here <<<<
2 Relax
FREE XLForum Organized Tech Info - Check Out The Sportsterpedia
__________________
### Incredible journeys defy a destination! ###
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2 Hours Ago
bustert's Avatar
bustert bustert is offline
Senior Master Custom Bike Builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,845
Sportster/Buell Model: 1200s
Sportster/Buell Year: 2001
Sportster/Buell Model #2: xlch
Sportster/Buell Year #2: 1974
Reputation: 1066371
bustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond reputebustert has a reputation beyond repute
Default

for grins and giggles, pull the power from the unit and power up directly and see if this helps.
reason: it is possible that the ringing in the primary coil is being induced into the units circuitry. hd usually powers instrumentation separately. now if that helps but you do not want to change, try adding a capacitor to the units inlet power to ground and the stray ac component will be shunted.
also, is the power running in close quarters with the spark plug leads? this to can induce emf into the circuit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Sponsored Links
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
XL Forum® - Linson Media LLC