PDA

View Full Version : Ever hit a swarm?

Baphomet
4th April 2011, 14:46
I've been riding for 40 years now and the day before yesterday was the first time I ever hit a swarm of bugs on the highway. I'm buzzing along 1604 here in San Antonio, Texas at 70+ miles an hour and my wife is following close behind me on her Can-am. Out of nowhere, and I really didn't see anything, it felt like someone threw a fountain drink in my face. My face shield just got hit by at least a dozen bugs all at the same time and I couldn't see out of it so I pulled over. Took a rag and wiped a ton of clear bug guts and black particles of wings and legs off the shield. It was gross. The wife pulled in behind me an I thought for sure she had to of hit the same swarm, but she said she didn't see a thing! I guess the little bastards were aiming for me! Thank god I wasn't wearing my 1/2 helmet with goggles like I usually do. :D

There are very few pictures of me out there in the world, and my sister took this picture as we were leaving her house just before the bug incident happened.
http://www.thecopierguru.com/public/lindas.jpg

sportsterdude.248
4th April 2011, 14:59
In the summer time it's a normal occurrence around here. I was riding down the expressway with my friend Bob last summer I had a wind screen he did not and we hit a swarm of nasty green bugs. My wind screen and hands turned green and so did Bob.

Baphomet
4th April 2011, 15:04
... and so did Bob.
:laugh

Dirt Hill
4th April 2011, 15:11
I've been hit by wasps and yellow-jackets so many times that I've actually developed a dangerous allergy. I've been hit between the knuckes, had them go inside my helmet and into my ear, down my shirt and sting my sternum. Last time I got hit in the neck and my whole head swelled.....gotta carry an Epi-Pin with me now when I ride. Damn bugs.

sportymike02
4th April 2011, 15:38
too many to count, learned to ride with my mouth closed at all times

Cherrylady2
4th April 2011, 15:48