PDA

View Full Version : Being a minority in the Military...

funnythebunny
22nd December 2011, 01:12
... is very difficult when you have no one to turn to. As a minority and shorter than most of my fellow servicemen in my unit, I was constantly harrased, bullied, picked-on, ordered to perform tasks that would normally would have been done by lower ranked or assigned as punishment. It happened constantly, which is one of many reason why I transfered to work the graveyard shift on the flightline, you get to work alone in darkness.

To this date I resented the way that they treated me; I'm sure in some sadistic way it must have been fun and funny to do it, but it wasn't for me. It did however taught me to do better, and ironically, to be a better person, and knowing that I served with pride, holding my head up high and state that I am a Veteran.

I'm sure by now you have all heard on the news about the charges against 8 soldiers for the death of Pvt Danny Chen (http://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/22/us/8-charged-in-death-of-fellow-soldier-us-army-says.html), the son of chinese immigrants. Born and raised in Lower Manhattan, Danny wanted nothing more than to serve in the USA, and eventually be able to join the NYPD. I was there with my fellow PGRs at his wake; I was ashamed of what his country has done to him.

I hope that the truth finally comes out about this; I hope those responsible for his ordeals are found guilty, demoted, sent to Fort Leavenworth and untimately, discharged with a dishonorable record, one that will follow them for the rest of their lives.

We are in debt to Pvt Chen and his family and should never allow this to happen again.

flashedwards
22nd December 2011, 01:34