PDA

View Full Version : Howdy

chimpy
20th February 2008, 09:12
Hello everyone!

My name is Ryan and I live in Ft. Lauderdale. I'm 21 and I've been riding bikes for a couple years now, and they are my only mode of transportation. I've been riding sport bikes since I was 19. I have however, become bored with my CBR1000RR.

I'm bored because the enjoyability of riding sportbikes is near gone, because the aggressive seating position is taking a toll on my ability to go for long rides aka to Orlando or even out of state. I can't get to Tampa without being miserable, sure they are great for in town and going on the highway for a bit, but a new niche for me is growing that must be filled as an American motorcyclist.

I MUST own a Harley. I'm a pretty small guy, about 5'10. I've mounted a Road King that my stepfather has had for a while in the past, and it feels like driving a boat (sweet bike however) and I've decided that I want a Sportster.

I want the Sportster because it is powered just enough for what I want, infinitely customizable and won't break my bank.

However, I know virtually nothing about them, so I am here. :banana

I'm looking to buy either new or used, and have roughly $7.5k in cash that I'm willing to commit to this purchase.

In all honesty, I would prefer to get a used bike whose taxes have been paid with relatively low mileage. BUT one thing that I can't shake (because every bike I've ever ridden was fuel injected) is the reliability of carbeurated vs. fuel injected platforms. The only thing that will keep me from buying used is the long term reliability of a carbeurated system vs. fuel injection. So for me, the only reason to buy new is for the fuel injection platform so I have guaranteed starting no matter if I take a trip to the NE and it's cold out or blazing hot in the desert (I've got big plans for this bike!).

What does everyone have to say about the subject?

jharback
20th February 2008, 09:22