PDA

View Full Version : Advice - Coloring Cast Wheels

Scout99
8th February 2006, 11:34
Apologies if this was addressed elsewhere…my search for a like topic with answers to my questions was not found.

I’m about to undertake my most difficult project yet…coloring my stock cast wheels (I classify the task as difficult because I have very little experience with coating metal). Here’s some questions for the members – of which I would guess has at least a million years of collective experience:
· What is the best way to prep stock cast wheels for good lasting results?
· Can I achieve a quality (durable) finish using “rattle can” paint?
· How many coats of “rattle can” colored paint should I use?
· If I used “rattle can” paint is there any brand/type that will provide better results?
· Are there clear coat “rattle can” paints that will help protect the colored finish and stand-up to the road grime I’ll encounter?
· How many coats of “rattle can” clear coat should I use?
· I suspect that best results are achieved by removing the tire, wheel weights and discs – painting the wheel – then remounting/re-balancing everything…is this correct?
· Do I need to replace wheel bearings if I have the wheels apart?
· If I have the wheels apart, what is a good method to clean up my discs (they have discolored from lots of braking)?
· On the same subject, is painting the center portion (non-braking surface) of the disc a bad idea or can it be done?
· I’d like to pin-stripe the wheel after I paint it. Is there a technique on how to do this and achieve good lasting results (tape/mask and spray v. tape/mask and brush)?

Here’s how I thought I’d approach this project (I will do this in conjunction with mounting SS brake lines, speed bleeders and performance pads).
1. Bleed all my brake fluid (front and rear).
2. Remove the wheels, discs, tires and wheel weights.
3. Prep the wheels and the discs.
4. “Rattle can” paint the wheels with color.