wowee1
27th April 2006, 01:01
Hope it's OK to forward you guys to another forum.....Didn't feel right about hijacking their thread, and I feel it's important enough to let you know....
http://65.38.172.84/forums/showthread.php?t=77369
Sure is bad news, as I check that Harleyhog site all the time!:frownone
My suggestion is to download all you can before it all goes away....
tim4hire
27th April 2006, 04:05
That link just says I don't have any permission to see whatever it is that you'd like me to see.Could you tell me what it's about?thanks
indyrednek
27th April 2006, 04:11
This may be easier for some of you:
IMPORTANT: http://www.harleyhog.co.uk/ *PLEASE READ*.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HD are threatening me with legal action.
I received the letter below via e-mail early last week.
I'm waiting on a reply from last Friday to see if they would give me permission to carry on, nothing so far. . .
In the meantime, get whatever relevant information you might need regarding your bikes, I'll keep it up as long as I can.
It looks like I might be saying "it was good while it lasted". . . They know and you know, I can't beat them.
h.h.
------------
Dear Mr Tierney,
Re: www.harleyhog.co.uk
This letter is further to our previous telephone conversation and in reference to your on-going infringing reproduction of Harley-Davidson’s copyright documents, in connection with your business, as well as passing off through the use of our HARLEY and H.O.G. trade marks in your domain name.
Specifically, you have reproduced numerous of Harley-Davidson’s technical publications, regarding servicing and repair of our motorcycles, on this site without permission.
Harley-Davidson owns the copyright in these Service Bulletins, Parts & Accessories Service Bulletins, TechTips, Instructions and other materials.
The unauthorised reproduction and display of copyright material violates Harley-Davidson’s copyright rights.
In addition, the use of the HARLEY and HOG trade marks in the above-mentioned domain name are being used in such a way as to leave the impression in the minds of consumers and potential consumers that some relationship may exist between your business and Harley-Davidson.
This amounts to passing-off and causes damage to our brand.
It is our firm opinion that your current reproduction, display and dissemination of our materials on your website constitutes copyright infringement under the laws of the United Kingdom.
Accordingly, demand is hereby made that you immediately discontinue this and all other passing-off and immediately cease from using the above domain name.
Unless we promptly receive confirmation of your compliance with this demand, we will be forced to take such steps as may be necessary to prevent further copyright infringement and passing-off.
Yours sincerely,
N****i B*****k
Trade Mark Manager – Europe
Oxford Business Park, 6000 Garsington Road,Oxford OX4 2DQ, England
t:+44 (0) 1865 7****9 f:+44 (0) 1865 3****9 m:+44 (0) 77** 621 **4
e-mail: n****.b*****k@harley-davidson.com
PS - unfortunately this letter was sent by registered post and not called for from the Post Office.
================================================== ========================
indyrednek
27th April 2006, 04:13
This is my response to the post as I quoted above:
If they do decide to make you take it down, ALL HD owners are entitled to any and all recall information and technical service bulletins. This right is guaranteed to us by the US Federal Government.
All that you would need to do in go to your local dealer and request that information. They may hesitate but it is "Public Information" and must be supplied when the consumer requests that info.
CapMorganXL
27th April 2006, 04:48
LOL.. OK, you did it. I tried to go there (use it occasionally my self), and the site is down due to bandwidth allowance being exceeded. Guess I'll wait til another time to poach documents before the whole thing goes down. Thanks for the heads up though.
wowee1
27th April 2006, 13:30
Thanks, indyrednek, I forgot you can't see anything over at the other forum if you aren't a member. As you said, it's public information, but the dealerships can be a PITA to try to get it, as most of the time they don't know of the stuff themselves, or don't know what would pertain to your model of bike. Anyway, it's a shame that a great source of info will be squashed by the MOCO...I'm sure they (MOCO) will succeed, as the stuff is copyrighted, and they have control over how it gets disseminated....:(
thatbikerguy
28th April 2006, 01:57
This may be easier for some of you:
IMPORTANT: http://www.harleyhog.co.uk/ *PLEASE READ*.
This account has exceeded it's bandwidth quota and has been temporarily disabled.:frownone
CBAS5
28th April 2006, 02:03
That's complete BS and makes me angry. I have used service bulletins from there that dealerships have told me didn't exist. I would have been screwed otherwise. It is information that should be publicly available. The moco has been pushing a lot of my buttons lately.
justdrew
28th April 2006, 15:10
This is one that the MoCo should really stay away from. The service bullittens and set up checklist should be available to any bike owner...especially those that want to see what that dealer prep charge really buys you. Their instruction sheets have saved my bacon every time I've went to reinstall something that I don't have torque values for the job.
Now if the MoCo web site offered a real tech section where they published all this stuff for a nominal fee (gotta get that pound of flesh) Then I think they would have a leg to stand on in going after these folks. The fact that these guys are giving away this information and providing our community a service is being missed in the name of overzelous lawyers trying to justify their huge invoices.....Grrrrrrrrrr
skratch
28th April 2006, 15:41
if someone who was able to get to the site and download the info, if you would burn it to a disk, i would be willing to help duplicate those disks and make available to others so that we at least have the older stuff, won't be able to do much about new stuff though.