PDA

View Full Version : final wet sand on Clear Coat?????

SkippyRay
15th February 2005, 19:32
I have painted mt fenders with NightHawk Black paint did the whole layer wetsand, layer, wetsand, Put somewhere in the neighboorhood of 6 coats of paint, and now I started my Clear, I laid down a light base let it dry 24 hours, and then added a heavier coat, let it dry wetsnad with 1500 grit paper, put another coat of clear, did the same again. Finished it off with about 10 coats of clear. The question is... The final coat of clear looks like glass, do I really need to wet sand this again then use the finishing compound, or can I just add finishing compound without the final wetsand? I would hate to screw up this finish. Any suggestions would be great.

:abr::ar_cw3:

CuL8R
15th February 2005, 19:38
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but if the final coat looks good, why do you want to sand or use compound at all. I would think you could just wax it up and stick it on. But I am curious to know the right way as well.

SkippyRay
15th February 2005, 19:46
DUHHHHH cause the instructions on how to paint said to... Hell I dont know this is the 1st time I've tried this. Looks pretty good and the whole thing is costing around 50 bucks.

dmraco
15th February 2005, 19:48
My question is what is the final compound? A paint hardener??

If the final coat looks good, I would not sand. A very fine polishing compound may increase the shine a little and will not ruin it. After that...wax and wax away.

Post some photos of your work!

CuL8R
15th February 2005, 19:53
DUHHHHH cause the instructions on how to paint said to... Hell I dont know this is the 1st time I've tried this. Looks pretty good and the whole thing is costing around 50 bucks.