PDA

View Full Version : Installing an Oil Press Guage "How To" (w pics)


Turbota
23rd June 2006, 02:00
Oil Press Guage Install "How-To"

This install was done on a 04 1200R, but I would think that the procedures would be the same on the 03 and earlier Evo engines.

You will need 2 parts:

Oil Pressure Guage, Autometer,
White Face (can be ordered in silver or black face too), 0-60 psi, 1 1/2 Dia.
Drag Specialties P/N: 2212-0004
$ 22.68 + shipping from https://www.zanottimotor.com/shopping/partLookUp.html

Oil Press Guage Line, Russell,
Braided Stainless, (comes with fitting)
Drag Specialties P/N: 1204-8406
$ 38.40 + shipping from from https://www.zanottimotor.com/shopping/partLookUp.html

Here is a photo of the parts:
Note: The silver fitting is supplied with the Russell Oil Press Guage Line. The black fitting was bought from another source and is not needed, as it will not work with the Evo engine anyway (disregard it). It is hard to tell in the photo, but the Russell stainless oil press line is plastic coated just like the H-D stainless brake lines.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218234638.jpg


http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218243522.jpg

_____________________________________________


This photo was taken with the oil filter removed and shows the oil press switch (sending unit) that needs to be removed. The wire just pulls straight off.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218252177.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows the new fitting installed into the engine case. Since these are pipe threads, use teflon anti-seize tape on the threads ... Attached to this fitting is another fitting that was once was screwed into the braided hose when it was packaged by Russell. The end of this smaller fitting screws into the other fitting and also has pipe threads and will need teflon tape ...

Note that this fitting has an AN style end on it that the oil press hose will attach to later. This fitting has to be at least partially screwed into the other fitting that attaches into the engine case [before] the complete assembly of both fittings are screwed into the case.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218261765.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows both the oil press switch and the oil press line installed into the fitting assembly. Be advised that the oil pressure switch has pipe threads and will also need teflon anti-seize tape wrapped around it prior to install. As I stated before, the fitting that the oil pressure line attaches to is an AN fitting. These fittings don't use anything on them prior to install. [Nothing] on the threads. The stainless braided hose is zip-tied in 2 places as it routes up along the frame tube.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218270286.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows the oil pressure switch wire. I routed it to the right side of the engine just so you could see it good. The problem is ... it is now too short and will need to be legthend just a bit. Since this is only a single wire, adding another section to the center of it will be easy. Just cut the wire, strip the insulation, and slide a piece of shrink tubing down the wire [before] you solder the ends together. Then slide the shrink tubing over the repaired section of wire and heat it with a lighter until is shrinks tight. Then push the newly lengthened wire on the oil press switch ... nothing to it

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218274372.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows the oil filter in place. As you can see, the install looks neat and the filter don't interfere with anything (if you look, I still have not installed the wire on the oil pressure switch. Got to get that done.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17218282268.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows the back of the guage and the mounting bracket I made out of 1" wide aluminum bar stock. Cost was $8 for a 4 foot piece from Ace Hardware.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17321405838.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo shows the guage mounted to the bracket. The hole was drilled just big enough that it would rest against the flat square section on the guage. Then the hose was tightened down which sandwiched the bracket between the square part of the guage and the hose fitting. What was nice was that once the hose fitting tightened up on the bracket, it also tightened up on the threads of the guage .... so. no leaks.

As you can see, I mounted the bracket to the "dog bone" engine stabilizer rod.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17321414299.jpg
_____________________________________________


This photo just shows the top of the guage after it was mounted

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17321422331.jpg
_____________________________________________

The last photo shows the complete install from a distance.

http://x2.putfile.com/6/17321430232.jpg


That's All Folks! :)

grizz420
23rd June 2006, 02:03
very cool post a pic when you figure out a mount

883 custom
23rd June 2006, 02:10
Looks good,what kind of pressure readings are you seeing?

chrishajer
23rd June 2006, 02:22
Nice write up Ron. Thank you for pointing out the proper way to seal pipe threads and AN threads.

--Chris

snowman
23rd June 2006, 02:32
Nice write up Ron. Thank you for pointing out the proper way to seal pipe threads and AN threads.--Chris

I second that!!! Great job on the pics....:banana:banana:banana

Turbota
23rd June 2006, 02:44
Thank's everyone ...

BTW, Either I have problems or these engines don't make much oil pressure.

My engine when very hot only makes 13 psi at a 950 rpm idle and 22 psi at a steady 3,000 rpm in neutral.

Mobil 1 15w-50 "red cap" if that really matters.

CBAS5
23rd June 2006, 02:58
BTW, Either I have problems or these engines don't make much oil pressure.

This is why I stopped installing guages because it just makes me worry.

From 2005 service manual:

idle (950-1050 rpm) 7-12 PSI
2500 RPM: 10-17 PSI

Cookiey_Man
23rd June 2006, 03:02
Thanks Turbota for the instructions...excellent detail as usual...

One question:
... I will need to make a bracket to actually attach the guage to that screw you can see on the upper rocker cover .... that's the next project.

Wouldn't a mounting bracket afixed to the engine present a lot of shaking for the gauge? Make it difficult to read?

Cookiey

If practice makes perfect & nobody's perfect.... why practice?

Cookiey_Man
23rd June 2006, 03:20
According to my '05 Service Manual...

Engine oil should be at normal operating temperature (230F/110C) for an accurate reading

At 2500 RPM, oil pressure will vary from 10-17 psi (69-117 kN/m)

At idle speed (950-1050 RPM), oil pressure will vary from 7-12 psi (48-83 kN/m)

Cookiey

Why do they put Braille dots on the keypad of the drive-up ATM?

Turbota
23rd June 2006, 03:38
Well, I don't feel so bad now! :)

Thanks,

Jeeeze ... I wish my guage only indicated as high as 30 psi ... it would look alot better

chrishajer
23rd June 2006, 03:42
Engine oil should be at normal operating temperature (230F/110C) for an accurate reading

Whoa! HD says normal oil operating temperature is 230F? What about everyone who's running cooler than that (http://www.xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=282)? 98% of the responses were under 230 degress.

Ron, these motors rely on volume not pressure. Yours is fine. Now that you have a baseline for your motor, watch for changes, up or down.

I'm with CBAS5: no gauges for me means less worry.

--Chris

chrishajer
23rd June 2006, 03:42
Yeah, the 100 PSI gauges are really useful!

--Chris

CBAS5
23rd June 2006, 16:57
I'm with CBAS5: no gauges for me means less worry.

That's probably because I learned it from you. :D

LordVngr
23rd June 2006, 17:54
Nice writeup and pics dude. Personally I like oil pressure gauges. I guess the one thing that comes to My mind when I see the pictures is, How do you keep your engines cases so clean cause those are some Clean Cases man. :clap


LV

dodgenbullets
24th June 2006, 00:38
You never cease to impress me. I have that same guage and i'm working on a mount for it. I'll let you know how it turns out.

Swankster
24th June 2006, 00:59
Excellent Mr. T, as usual...
My Indy has been working on a mount for mine for quite some time now. I have not been in to much of a hurry or pressuring him, thus far; but am starting to get a little anxous. The plan is for a custom dual gauge mount near the bars and off-centered with the speedo that will hold both the oil gauge and the 2 5/8" Autometer Tach.
Jeeeezz!! after looking what you did, it seems pretty darn easy and I'm now thinking of manufacturing my own mount.
Thanks for the inspiration.
Swankster

AeroSport
24th June 2006, 01:27
Nice writeup and great pics, Ron, but I have a question if I may. Why did you mount the Oil pressure sending unit at the 90 degree junction of the T instead of the vertical as is was mounted originally? Was there not enough room to mount it straight down? Seems if you had done it that way it would have been easier to get to if you ever had to change it and you wouldn't have had to legthen the wire. Maybe the pics are deceiving but it looks like there would have been enough room.

ted
24th June 2006, 01:41
My pressure gage is taking the oil tank cap off and looking at the return flow. Thats all that really matters.
Ted

dodgenbullets
24th June 2006, 05:41
Your the man. Looks kick ass. I took a nylon spacer and cut it at an angle. My guage tilts rearward with that between the guage and bracket.

Turbota
24th June 2006, 06:03
Nice writeup and great pics, Ron, but I have a question if I may. Why did you mount the Oil pressure sending unit at the 90 degree junction of the T instead of the vertical as is was mounted originally? Was there not enough room to mount it straight down? Seems if you had done it that way it would have been easier to get to if you ever had to change it and you wouldn't have had to legthen the wire. Maybe the pics are deceiving but it looks like there would have been enough room.

With that new silver fitting now installed into the engine case, there is just no room to mount the sending unit pointing straight down. Only place to mount the sending unit is in the horizontal and pointing to the left.

The small fitting that the stainless hose attaches to can be mounted pointing down because it has a 45 degree bend in it and it is also shorter than the oil pressure sending unit.

dodgenbullets
24th June 2006, 08:13
Here's another way to mount one.http://x2.putfile.com/6/17401592526.jpg

Bill2
24th June 2006, 22:28
Thats a great place to mount it, easy to read and just looks good. Could'nt really see ron's, i still have dail up and wait 15 minutes and still nothing! Dail up sucks!

Turbota
25th June 2006, 03:39
Well, I went out for a little test drive today to make sure I had no leaks in the guage install ...

These engines do make pretty good oil pressure at high revs. The pressure got up to about 37 psi at the 7,000 rev limiter ... but they don't make much pressure at idle.

Gone
12th August 2006, 03:45
Turbota,
Thanks for the how-to. Here's my gauge.

http://xlforum.net/photopost/data/500/100_1350a.jpg

Regards,

MidWest XL
12th August 2006, 04:05
What happened to all the pics with Turbota's write up?

Gone
12th August 2006, 04:31
Dunno. There was a loss of gallery pics within the last couple of months; I figured Turbota didn't have time to repost them I had seen his write up before the pics got lost.

Regards,
sportynube

kmm0000
27th August 2006, 15:39
I am not seeing any of the pictures that you reference in your post.

dodgenbullets
27th August 2006, 15:58
Here is a good place to mount a pressure gauge. Off the rear of the enrichner bracket. You only need to glance down slightly for an unobstructed veiw. Autometer makes a nice looking gauge thats decent for $25.00. You'll want the 0-60 psi for a Sportster. A pre made line from Russell for an 03 sporty works fine on my 06. The fittings that allow you to keep the idiot light are inluded for $35.00. I turned my guage so 15 psi is at the 12:00 position. No need to look at numbers, if the needle points forward your good. Just like NASCAR.






http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j314/crf223/DSCF1121-1.jpg

DarkStar883
1st September 2006, 21:12
Dodgenbullets, I tried to PM you but your box is full so I'll post the question here...

I've got an AutoMeter 60lb black faced gauge and love your idea of using the premade Russell '03 line. Can you elaborate on where you found the line? I've been searching but have not been able to locate one as of yet...

Edited to add:

This one?

http://www.jpcycles.com/productdetail.aspx?PID=740-025&cs=Harley&GID=FF82B143-6F20-4884-A9E4-553EE0B6C410&store=&page=&search=&brand=russell

dodgenbullets
2nd September 2006, 00:24
Part # 1204-8406. Dennis Kirk, JP cycles and all the usuall guys has the oil line. The line for an XL is longer than the BT or TC. That's why it's $45. You can get one thru Zannotti for $38.40. The end that goes to your bike rotates 360 and theres more options as where to mount your gauge with that length. The fittings are included and it's a clean install. I used a piece of carb support L bracket I had laying around for the guage.

DarkStar883
14th September 2006, 20:41
Installed my pressure gauge today, ended up using an HD 75012-82D I picked up from the dealer for $20. The Russell line and fittings worked out very well and mounting the gauge off the cylinder head bracket looks great and puts the gauge right where I want it when riding...

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/854/oilgauge01tt2.jpg

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/5069/oilgauge02bi3.jpg

Gone
15th September 2006, 03:40
Nice work, DarkStar!

dodgenbullets
18th September 2006, 06:58
That's a nice set up. I found the enrichner bracket rear mounting hole to be at a perfect angle for vewing the guage. How about you?
You might consider turning the guage to where under cruise speed the needle points forward. That would put 20 psi in the 12:00 position. Don't strain to read the numerals, if the needle points forward your good. Just like NASCAR.
Try and get the line up close to the engine. If it's hanging out it can get caught and pulled off. I took a small hose guide and ran one of the motor case bolts thru it. You can see it in the pic.

bjfoien
28th September 2006, 04:51
dodgenbullets - do you have a close up picture of your oil guage braket?

Turbota
5th October 2006, 06:34
Since I started this thread, the photos have dissapeared due to a poor free photo hosting company.

Anyway, here are a few of them from the original post:

http://www.yourep.com/getimage/Turbota/39227/Turbota39227.jpg

http://www.yourep.com/getimage/Turbota/39226/Turbota39226.jpg

http://www.yourep.com/getimage/Turbota/39225/Turbota39225.jpg

http://www.yourep.com/getimage/Turbota/39224/Turbota39224.jpg

http://www.yourep.com/getimage/Turbota/39223/Turbota39223.jpg

Folkie
15th October 2006, 12:45
Installed my pressure gauge today, ended up using an HD 75012-82D I picked up from the dealer for $20. The Russell line and fittings worked out very well and mounting the gauge off the cylinder head bracket looks great and puts the gauge right where I want it when riding...

http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/854/oilgauge01tt2.jpg

Hey DarkStar, that set up looks good! Could you tell me what the diameter of the HD 75012-82D gauge is please? I'm thinking of using the Arlen Ness bracket off the rocker cover, and wonder if that gauge would fit.

dodgenbullets
15th October 2006, 15:10
That gauge there is 1.5 inches. The bracket from Ness is pricey.

Folkie
15th October 2006, 15:37
That gauge there is 1.5 inches. The bracket from Ness is pricey.
Thanks DB.

kbfarkas
4th November 2006, 04:10
The install was pretty straight forward;
Remove oil filter to gain access to the sending unit,remove sender. Screw sender into an 1/8 npt street tee then reinstall assembly back in engine case. Tighten assembly ending up with open port on tee to the left of bike. Do not turn assembly backwards to get the right angle. Pipe thread fittings use a tapered thread to seal, loosening fitting usually breaks that seal.
And always use pipe dope or thead tape when assembling pipe thread.
I found it easier to assemble sender and tee as a unit because of the tight space. Then install a 1/8 npt x 4 AN stlyle nipple (male/male) into the tee.
Next I removed the bolt holding the footpeg assembly to the forward support. I made a spacer from 1/4" aluminum nut zert, drilled center to 5/16", cut to 3/8" long and 1/2" O.D. This spacer is needed to fill the recess in the support and provide a positive support for the L bracket. The bracket I used was a Cummins L bracket PT# 68190 (1/4" stock, one side was drilled to 7/16" the other had 5/16-18 threads) I drilled out threads to accept the new bolt. Attach bracket to support with new bolt 3/4" longer (bracket and spacer) used blue locktite.
I Installed the gauge on the bracket using a 1/8" female npt x 4 An style fitting as the retaining nut/fitting.
I used parker reusable fittings and hose. 201 type hose and 20820 type fittings. This hose set-up is easy to work with. I cut the hose to 5-1/4" before assembly. I made the oil tube about a 1/2" longer than needed to allow for flex.
Install hose, reinstall oil filter, start bike and check for leaks.
I have 20lbs. oil pressure at idle with engine at 150 deg. I ran for a couple days to make sure I had no leaks then I cleaned whole assembly to remove any dirt and oil residue, dried thoroughly and painted everything except the gauge black.
So for around $50.00 and about 3 hours labor I now have an oil pressure gauge and I am very pleased with the install.

JeePing
19th November 2006, 16:18
i can't see pics...:frownthre

Folkie
19th November 2006, 16:34
i can't see pics...:frownthre
What, any of the pics, or the ones at the beginning in post # 1? Those pics have disappeared, and Turbota reposted some of them in post # 35.

JeePing
11th April 2007, 15:41
I can't see them pics :wtf

kbfarkas
11th April 2007, 16:14
There are a couple pics of the finished project in my gallery if that helps.
http://xlforum.net/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=3883

JeePing
11th April 2007, 16:32
thanks man

Folkie
11th April 2007, 18:34
PM me your email address and I'll email them to you.

88inchsporty
11th April 2007, 21:42
A 60 psi gauge will not be enuf, if you are running an aftermarket Pro Flo pump. It will put out over 60 psi at startup. You'll need a 100 psi gauge if using a Pro Flo pump.

aussiesport
28th April 2007, 06:47
hey 88 how much is a proflow and where do ya get them??

Gone
28th April 2007, 10:28
My pressure gage is taking the oil tank cap off and looking at the return flow. Thats all that really matters.
Ted

If you observe pressure dropping over time, it could indicate future trouble, such as a worn oil pump.

88inchsporty
29th April 2007, 14:51
hey 88 how much is a proflow and where do ya get them??

They are over $500.

zippersperformance.com

crank01
10th September 2009, 15:15
not getting any photos am j doing something wrong

Folkie
10th September 2009, 15:28
The pics have disappeared. I may still have them saved; I'll look when I get home.

Folkie
10th September 2009, 17:41
Here you go:

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge1.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge2.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge3.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge4.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge5.jpg

crank01
10th September 2009, 21:54
you guy are the greatest, thanks for digging up these photos ,ray charles could see how to do it , thanks again; crank

turkishxl883
6th November 2011, 21:12
can i use it for 2008 efi model

Folkie
6th November 2011, 22:02
I should think so. I expect the oil pressure light switch would be the same fitting.

turkishxl883
6th November 2011, 22:08
hmm i will buy one from ebay than thank you mate

Nytstr
12th December 2011, 13:03
hmm i will buy one from ebay than thank you mate

Did you get it done, Turkish? Any issues? I want to install a gauge on my '07.

turkishxl883
12th December 2011, 18:20
i got it but i dont have time to install it.Bu it looks knd a easy maybe this weekend i will install it and take video for you.

o1racing03
26th May 2012, 05:36
Reminds me of when I had an oil temp sender put in the oilpan of my VW racecar. The tech said the only thing adding a guage would do would be to scare the chit out of me at hot the oil runs in a VW race engine. I didn't really care how hot it got normally, I just wanted to know when it was something other than what it normally ran at.

It's too bad all the pics in this thread are gone. I would like to have seen them. (oops, I see they were reposted, Thanks)

I have an oil pressure guage mounted on a rocker shaft end on my 62 XL but need to move it as the new tank completely covers it so you can't see it rendering it quite useless.

hellhound
17th April 2013, 20:04
Ok I seen some of the pics on this thread and read almost everything but does anyone just have a straight up parts list with info about the brand of gauge, the length of the Russell braided line and anything else they feel is pertinent to this project.

Stairman
17th April 2013, 20:14
Ok I seen some of the pics on this thread and read almost everything but does anyone just have a straight up parts list with info about the brand of gauge, the length of the Russell braided line and anything else they feel is pertinent to this project.

I used this on the Fatboy. I'm sure they have one to fit a Sporty.
http://www.jpcycles.com/product/742-000

hellhound
17th April 2013, 20:44
I've seen that one before on JP and no it won't work, no one makes a decent enough kit

Folkie
17th April 2013, 21:06
The Arlen Ness kit is OK.

hellhound
17th April 2013, 21:53
No way I'm spending that much tho, I like what u guys have goin on. I found the gauge in J&P, and the Russell line on another site for $47 cause that Harley shop that turbota posted isn't around anymore. So I'm wondering what else I need

hellhound
17th April 2013, 21:57
Here you go:

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge1.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge2.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge3.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge4.jpg

http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll251/Folkie_XL/TubotasOilPressureGauge5.jpg

See folkie I love what you did here with yours, but I'm going with an Auto Meter gauge and I'm wondering the length of your Russell oil line, everything else as far as fittings I've got.

Folkie
17th April 2013, 22:31
That's not mine; those are some of Turbota's pics which I had saved and reposted.

I used the Arlen Ness kit without gauge, and used a VDO (undamped) white faced gauge initially. The gauge didn't last long, and I replaced it with that one with an engine turned face that you see in the catalogues (which was oil damped).

Here are some pics:

http://xlforum.net/photopost/data/500/medium/Oil_Pressure_Gauge.jpg

http://xlforum.net/photopost/data/500/medium/Tach_And_OP_Gauge.jpg

http://xlforum.net/photopost/data/500/medium/Air_Cleaner_Cover.jpg

You can't really look at the gauge there, except when you're stopped. :frownthre

Stairman
17th April 2013, 22:32
I would stick with an oil filled gauge.

hellhound
17th April 2013, 22:34
Ok, that makes sense now. And my gauge is filled

Folkie
17th April 2013, 22:38
I would stick with an oil filled gauge.
So would I, now. My original gauge didn't stop working, but the needle shifted. It read about 12 psi when the engine was off!

hellhound
17th April 2013, 22:44
That's never good. I'm gonna do the same set up as the pics but I'm gonna use a different mount

hellhound
17th April 2013, 22:53
So would I, now. My original gauge didn't stop working, but the needle shifted. It read about 12 psi when the engine was off!

How much was your Arlen ness set up, $200?

Stairman
17th April 2013, 23:06
I can read mine pretty good while riding.
http://imageshack.us/a/img94/6442/img0001oxd.jpg

hellhound
17th April 2013, 23:18
http://www.cyclepartsforless.com/product/1204-8406 for the Russell oil line

http://www.jpcycles.com/product/740-797 for the Auto Meter 1.5 inch gauge, liquid filled mechanical

Folkie
17th April 2013, 23:24
I can read mine pretty good while riding.
http://imageshack.us/a/img94/6442/img0001oxd.jpg
Try getting out of 1st gear and going faster than 10 mph! :p


Sorry: couldn't resist.

Folkie
17th April 2013, 23:30
How much was your Arlen ness set up, $200?
The Arlen Ness kit was 120. The VDO gauge was $24.77.

I don't know how much the kit was at the time in $s, but in any case, it was nearly five years ago. No doubt prices have changed.

hellhound
17th April 2013, 23:33
That's true, prices are crazy now days

Stairman
17th April 2013, 23:54
Try getting out of 1st gear and going faster than 10 mph! :p


Sorry: couldn't resist.

Are you serious? It has more than one gear?

hellhound
18th April 2013, 00:48
Are you serious? It has more than one gear?

Lol it's not a Honda, Hold On Not Done Accelerating lol