PDA

View Full Version : relocating back turn signal


Prebs
13th July 2006, 17:36
I recently purchased a relocating turn signal kit for my bike. but i dont see how or where i would relocate them to:frownthre their looks like there will be a big hole where they are now if i move them. some have them attached near the license plate. but im either dumb or something lol i dont see how with out a piece to attach to it.. maybe the dealer gave me ther wrong kit?? HELP. any one have an idea:frownthre

chrishajer
13th July 2006, 17:48
What part number kit did you purchase, and why are you relocating the signals?

--Chris

Prebs
13th July 2006, 17:51
68474-04 is part number .. was thinking or reloacting so there was more room around the saddle bags that i have attached.

chrishajer
13th July 2006, 17:56
That is the right kit for 2004 and up. Didn't it come with instructions? The plates cover the holes in the fender strut, and the turn signal ends up being mounted further back. Does it not appear that it will do that?

--Chris

Prebs
13th July 2006, 18:09
LOL its possible that it does that and will do that. Just reaing the directions seem very complicated to me.and the pictures they show really dont show where it attaches to. maybe i should have the dealer do it for me.. i asked the guy if it was hard to do he just said it was time consuming. but seems more difficult than i thought.

merc
4th August 2006, 19:45
I am not a mod-but- isn't this in the wrong section?
It will get more exposure and better replies if it were in the tail light section.
(ps-not stepping on toes-just pointing it out)

CROW
4th August 2006, 21:31
http://greatbikegear.com/images/product%20pix/TSDNALD-lg.jpg
here is what I bought

http://greatbikegear.com/products/Easy%20Brackets/eb-TSDNA.htm

CROW

Headshot
14th September 2006, 05:15
Preb's right, I just bought a kit at IL Harley in Berwyn.
The directions blow ass. It looks like now I have to go out and buy a freakin' Bike Jack??? You have to take the shocks off!!!

Absolutely assinine.

And why isnt't the tail-lite section in the lighting section???

spatial.hd
14th September 2006, 05:36
Check out Bert's How-to guide:

http://xlforum.net/vbportal/modules.php?name=Downloads&file=viewarticle&id=26

Headshot
14th September 2006, 05:40
Dude, I don't have permission to access that page!?!?

Headshot
14th September 2006, 05:44
CROW! I want to return my HD kit (which only gets you what, 3 more stupid inches anyway?) and get yours!
How easy was it? Did you need to take the shocks off?

spatial.hd
14th September 2006, 05:53
Dude, I don't have permission to access that page!?!?

I guess it's one of the benefits of a paid subscription.

CROW
14th September 2006, 12:46
No the shocks did not need removed.

5oh
14th September 2006, 17:05
CROW! I want to return my HD kit (which only gets you what, 3 more stupid inches anyway?) and get yours!
How easy was it? Did you need to take the shocks off?The 01 kit won't work on your bike.

Headshot
14th September 2006, 17:15
The 01 kit won't work on your bike.

How much different can the 2 kits be?
They have one for '04 R

Prebs
14th September 2006, 17:23
i moved my directionals near the tail light. had HD do it.

Moved On / My Own Choice
14th September 2006, 19:01
How much different can the 2 kits be?
They have one for '04 R

Can't say for sure, but they changed the rear tail light to a circuit board thingie with plug-n-play connectors at some point, that could make it a bit different.

Regardless.

I used the Harley kit for our 05 and I was quite pleased with it.

I have NO idea WTF you're talking about removing the rear shocks, no need for that.

The hardest part of the Harley kit is picking where to cut and feeding the wires through the new stalk (and making sure the new connections are tight, secure and sealed). And even that isn't very difficult.

If you decide to use the HD kit, let me know what problems you're having and I'll try to help.

Jenn snapped a pic or two while we were working...

http://xlforum.net/photopost/data/500/Dissection5758smll.jpg

5oh
14th September 2006, 21:28
Hard to see with all the glare.....




PUT A HAT ON!!!! :D

Clarinetcat
14th September 2006, 23:35
Hard to see with all the glare.....




PUT A HAT ON!!!! :D

Holy friggin' BALD HEAD, Kev! When did that happen?
Not that I'm one to talk... buzzed my head too, but at least I left some hair on it!

Moved On / My Own Choice
15th September 2006, 02:24
:laugh :laugh

I shaved my head years ago when a buddy of mine lost all his hair due to chemo. I figured it was a good way to show some solidarity.

Well my wife, then girlfriend, found it "dead sexy" and I'm no idiot.

Anytime I shave it I'm guaranteed to "knock off a piece" :banana

So I can live with the glare. ;)

Prebs
15th September 2006, 02:44
Bald is sexy ;). I got Bf to shave his too ;);)

Moved On / My Own Choice
15th September 2006, 03:01
Bald is sexy ;). I got Bf to shave his too ;);)

See now that's what I'm talking about :banana


Hey, wait a minute, you got him to shave his WHAT? :wonderlan

Prebs
15th September 2006, 03:02
See now that's what I'm talking about :banana


Hey, wait a minute, you got him to shave his WHAT? :wonderlan

:boxing His head (s) :laugh

Moved On / My Own Choice
15th September 2006, 03:05
:boxing His head (s) :laugh


PHEW.... :D ;)