PDA

View Full Version : The XLF caper....

kiltbill
30th September 2006, 12:54
It was a quiet cold Monday at XLForum. Too quiet, I thought, slowly polishing the Headlight on my trusty Harley Sportster. The XLF is not the kind of place that likes to keep secrets, and my tingling senses told me that somewhere in The forum somebody was spilling some beans. And in my line of work, you get to know deep down in your gut those beans have a habit of being silent - but deadly.

My name is Bill. And I'm a dick.

I had just finished the final teleprompter read-through on the Alberto P Linson caper (The Sadist Wore a Beanie) when a familiar figure sauntered into the studio.

"Look what the cat drug in," I smiled. "What brings you down to the salt mines, doc?"

doc and I were once tighter than two cousins in a Kentucky hayloft. He helped show me the ropes at XLF back when I was a green rookie straight out of the programming academy, but lately I sensed tension between us after the release of my latest Moderator thread.

"Can the wisecracks, newsreader," he sneered. "You've got a little date with Commissioner Gazza downtown."

"Gee, maybe I should buy a corsage. Sorry, doc. I'm washing my hair."

"No dice, Bill-O. They've got the goods on you this time, and you better check that smart mouth of yours at the door."

"Aw, nuts doc. You know I'm busy following a lead in the big Klown Scandal. Tell Gazza to schedule it through my secretary, Sportster Girl."

"Bill," he paused, taking a breath. "Mel’s... gone."

No - no - not Mel...

TO BE CONTINUED....:smoke

Jimbo999
30th September 2006, 13:37
So far, so good.

kiltbill
30th September 2006, 13:43
Gazza peeled off his tortoise shell glasses and gave me a blank stare.
"We've been through this several times now, Bill," he sighed. "The evidence was fake. Forgeries. Made up from whole cloth. There is no Willyp. The case is closed."

"So," I pondered, "you're thinking we need to set up a stakeout in the Forum?"