PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever try to put a soft tail tank on a sportster


s0uthernrebel78
20th February 2007, 16:33
I was wondering how much work is required to put a softail tank on my xlc sinc ei have a 100th annv. i wanted to stick with the gun metal blue just move up to the bigger tank any info would be great

doc
20th February 2007, 16:49
I was wondering how much work is required to put a softail tank on my xlc sinc ei have a 100th annv. i wanted to stick with the gun metal blue just move up to the bigger tank any info would be great

There is a bracket that is welded on that allows for the use of the softail flatside tanks. There was a thread on here that had pictures of it and links. If I get a chance, I'll try to find it.

s0uthernrebel78
20th February 2007, 16:57
that would be great will the stock speedo work from my xlc or do i have to use the softtail one

klown
20th February 2007, 17:07
softail tanks are HUGE, why would anybody want to put that on a sporty? IMHO 3.3 peanut tanks look golden on a sporty and match the sleek looks. Is it for looks or range? Just curious :smoke

s0uthernrebel78
20th February 2007, 17:09
95percent of the guys i ride with have bigger tanks which means more miles I hate having to stop every 100 miles or so which means either having to play catch up or holding every one else up

CT1200
20th February 2007, 17:16
And when you play catch up your burning more fuel so your just going to run out sooner.

klown
20th February 2007, 17:16
After about 100 miles on my rigid mount, I'm ready to take a break and stretch and fill up. :smoke

doc
20th February 2007, 17:16
I believe you have to use the dash from the softail.

doc
20th February 2007, 17:29
Here's the link: Softail Tank on Sporty (http://xlforum.net/vbportal/forums/showthread.php?t=19830&highlight=softail)

chrome
20th February 2007, 17:36
Woody95 has a couple pics in his gallery with the softail tanks on....hope that helps!

Click here (http://xlforum.net/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=91)

pquirk
20th February 2007, 17:39
After about 100 miles on my rigid mount, I'm ready to take a break and stretch and fill up. :smoke
That 'cause you're a wuss, sr78 is obviously not such a pansy :laugh :laugh :laugh .

klown
20th February 2007, 17:53
Must be, but I doubt it :smoke

s0uthernrebel78
20th February 2007, 19:05
i HATE to stop once i get in the ryhtm of the road i hate to stop every 100 miles would i'm normally used to getting beat to death out on the boat so a 100 miles isnt bad on the bike Thanks for all the info the more the better

s0uthernrebel78
21st February 2007, 02:05
i looked at woody pics but they are just the tank on the bike i'm looking for pics of the mounts and any info about the dash like csn you use your stock speedo or do you have to use the speedo from the softail tank and how the ingition works do you keep the stock or can you hook up the softail style

Casper
21st February 2007, 02:28
I just PM'ed Woody95, asking if he'd pop in and give a little advice on the matter. I know that all three do have to be changed when converting to a trule softail tank, but I don't know the details. Hopefully, Woody will have the answers you're looking for.

bigwilly
21st March 2007, 17:07
Can you still rubber mount the tank then?

Ridingrick
17th August 2009, 19:33
I got a nice softy tank on ebay for $36, painted by the MOCO custom paint shop and individually numbered (96 of 150) to boot the guy just misspelled Harley and didnt know what it was off of so nobody looked at it. My next project is getting a dash for it and finding out how to wire it in without having to buy a factory softy manual for the diagrams.

Once I get it going and doing the mock-ups I will post pics and answer any questions. It may take until the New year to be able to afford everything a piece at a time but I think it will be worth it.