PDA

View Full Version : Does your transmission whine when you let off the gas?

Hot Rod Sporty
30th April 2007, 22:45
My transmission has always whined pretty loudly when I let off the gas in all gears except 5th. I asked the stealer about it when I first started riding it, and got the usual, "they all do that" response. I was riding with some of the guys from the forum yesterday and XL 1200 Custom noticed it and said his didn't do it. I asked stingray about his and he said he's never heard it, but he wears a ff helmet.

Does yours do this?

biknut
30th April 2007, 22:56
Make sure your primary chain isn't adjusted too tight.

cantolina
30th April 2007, 23:01
Sounds are SOOOOOO subjective....

I have been an audio engineer for so long...I'm trained to pick out every single nuance of any sound....among many! I certainly heard things that alarmed me many times when I got my first Sporty.......

That being said, if there is a NOTICABLE whine in your primary, chances are excellent you MAY have a primary chain that's too tight....might even only be in one place on the chain!

When its checked, I recommend you take the plugs wires off the plugs, and "tap" the starter to move the chain a bit...check it.....do it again until you are either SURE there is no tighter spot, or you find the tighter spot....

Adjust to spec at THAT point......

Hot Rod Sporty
30th April 2007, 23:17
If it were a primary chain issue, wouldn't it do it when I am ON the throttle, as well? And wouldn't it do it in 5th gear too?

And, Chuck, it's VERY noticeable. XL1200Custom heard it when he was on my right as we were coming down an off ramp. It's THAT noticeable!

cantolina
30th April 2007, 23:32
If it were a primary chain issue, wouldn't it do it when I am ON the throttle, as well? And wouldn't it do it in 5th gear too?

And, Chuck, it's VERY noticeable. XL1200Custom heard it when he was on my right as we were coming down an off ramp. It's THAT noticeable!

On your right, huh?