PDA

View Full Version : Hey Alaskans...

Martimus
17th July 2009, 01:21
I've got a few really silly questions for you!

My 70 year old mom was talking the other day about flying up to Anchorage to visit. We lived in Anchorage from 1969 through 1972 so it's been quite a few years since we were residents of the state... :wonderlan When we were there we lived in Spenard since my dad traveled a lot and proximity to the airport was necessary (not to mention that neither parent could drive in the snow worth a darn! :wonderlan).

I've heard lots of stories that the city has changed a great deal in the last 37 years. Any interesting touristy sorts of things to do nowadays? Any recommendations on nice but not too expensive places to stay (when I was a kid the Captain Cook and the Anchorage Westward were the two "ritzy" hotels in town)? Any parts of town to absolutely avoid?

I'm not sure what she's thinking that she wants to do while there as my family probably did all the typical touristy things back in the early 1970's. If my memory serves me the family had been to glacier bay several times, been on the old scenic railroad, spent time in Seward and Kenai and Fairbanks (and Ketchikan and Kodiak and Kotzebue and Nome). Heck I remember the Anchorage Fur Rendezvous back when the Iditarod was just a local dog sled race.

Any recommendations or suggestions oh residents of the state that was crazy enough to allow me to graduate from elementary school??? :p

Oldwrench
17th July 2009, 08:47
Hello Again.