The Sportster and Buell Motorcycle Forum Mother Road Customs  

Go Back   The Sportster and Buell Motorcycle Forum > SPORTSTER MOTORCYCLE ZONE > Sportster Motorcycle Era Specific and Model Specific > Ironhead Sportster Motorcycle Talk (1957-1985)
XLF Gallery XLF Classifieds XLF Blogs XLF Shout XLF Arcade XLF Disclaimer/Privacy Statement/Terms Of Use

Ironhead Sportster Motorcycle Talk (1957-1985) For all those that wanna talk about Ironhead Sportster Motorcycles

Members Birthdays
Energy One Clutches
NRHS Performance Long 2
RYCA Motors
NHRS Performance

Biltwell

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th June 2012
Biker

Sportster/Buell Model: XL
Sportster/Buell Year: 84
TheHighLife is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Common ironhead problems

I'm still pretty new to these engines. I always hear that ironheads are great engines but you should prepared to be wrenching on them as often or more than you're riding them. So, I'm curious what are the common ironhead problems? What should I look out for? Are there any preventative measures, besides the obvious, that are unique to these engines?
Old 13th June 2012
Master Custom Bike Builder

Sportster/Buell Model: XLCH
Sportster/Buell Year: 1974
Sportster/Buell Model #2: XLS
Sportster/Buell Year #2: 1980
ezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to beholdezmerf is a splendid one to behold

Mainly just keep a check every so often to make sure everything is tight esp if you have elec start.
Old 13th June 2012
Flat Track Champion

Sportster/Buell Model: XL
Sportster/Buell Year: 1957
Sportster/Buell Model #2: XLS
Sportster/Buell Year #2: 1979
Other Motorcycle Model: Indian Scout 741
Other Motorcycle Year: 1941